Derains & Gharavi International

Hamid Gharavi

Founding Partner

CV

NATIONALITÉ: Française et iranienne
LANGUES: Français, anglais et farsi
BARREAUX: Paris et New York
BUREAU: Paris

Dr. Hamid Gharavi est intervenu comme arbitre ou conseil dans plus de 200 arbitrages commerciaux, dont de construction, ad hoc et institutionnels, dont plus de 30 arbitrages d’investissement régis par des lois sur les investissements étrangers et des traités bilatéraux et multilatéraux, relatifs à un large éventail de questions allant des sanctions aux expropriations politiques, et dans les secteurs tels que le pétrole et gaz, les mines, les fusions-acquisitions, le matériel militaire, la défense, les médias, les télécommunications, l’aviation, l’agence, la distribution, la vente, tout type de projets de conception et d’ingénierie, l’élevage avicole, le duty-free, l’hôtellerie, l’immobilier, le bois et ses dérivés, les produits pharmaceutiques et le sport, y compris concernant les aspects commerciaux, les sanctions disciplinaires et le dopage.

Il figure sur la liste des Arbitres du CIRDI, est membre de la Cour du Centre d’Arbitrage d’Istanbul, membre de la  LCIA (de 2008 à 2012), membre de la Commission sur l’Arbitrage de la CCI, et figure sur d’autres listes d’arbitres telles que celles du DIAC, du SIAC, du TRAC ou du Tribunal Arbitral du Sport.

Dr. Gharavi enseigne l’arbitrage d’investissement dans le Master « Droit international économique » de l’Université Panthéon-Assas de Paris II. Il est l’auteur d’un livre intitulé “The International Effectiveness of the Annulment of an Arbitral Award,” publié chez Kluwer Law International et d’articles publiés dans les principales revues consacrées à l’arbitrage. Il intervient régulièrement en qualité d’orateur lors de conférences.

Dr. Gharavi est titulaire d’un doctorat de l’Université de Paris II et de diplômes d’études supérieures de la Faculté de Droit de l’Université de New York et de l’Université Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne.

Chambers ainsi que Legal 500 le classent dans le « band 1 » des conseils en arbitrage en France. Chambers écrit que « Hamid a un caractère hors du commun [et qu’] il est agréable et travailleur » et fait son éloge comme suit: « extrêmement dynamique, intrépide dans les audiences et capable de sortir des sentiers battus ». Chambers note également que le Dr. Gharavi « reçoit des éloges considérables en tant qu’arbitre actif et efficace dans des affaires importantes. Les personnes interrogées notent son précieux apport lors des audiences, en disant qu’: ‘Il soulève toujours de bonnes questions qui sont importantes pour l’issue de l’affaire’ ». Legal 500 le décrit comme « absolument brillant » avec « une pratique importante en qualité de conseil dans les affaires mais aussi une capacité extraordinaire à attirer des nominations majeures en qualité d’arbitre ».

Avant de fonder Derains & Gharavi, Dr. Gharavi était associé au sein du cabinet Salans à Paris. Il a débuté sa carrière chez Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom LLP à New York et comme professeur invité à la Faculté de Droit de l’Université de Richmond.

EXPÉRIENCE EN TANT QUE CONSEIL

Arbitrage d’Investissement :

Dr. Gharavi a obtenu gain de cause dans des dossiers qui ont fait jurisprudence, en agissant en qualité de conseil à la fois pour des investisseurs et des États souverains, dont la première sentence jamais rendue accordant réparation à un investisseur pour le préjudice moral subi dans le cadre d’un arbitrage initié sur le fondement d’un Traité Bilatéral d’Investissement (DLP v. Yemen, Affaire CIRDI No. ARB/05/17); une sentence rendue en faveur d’un investisseur jugeant que les résultats d’un appel d’offres public contrevenaient à un Traité Bilatéral d’Investissement (Joseph Charles Lemire v. Ukraine, Affaire CIRDI No. ARB/06/18); trois sentences CIRDI rendues en faveur d’investisseurs contre le Kazakhstan, dont deux sentences rendues en faveur de sociétés Turques pour l’expropriation de leurs actions par les autorités judiciaires de l’État hôte au bénéfice d’un tiers privé (Rumeli/Telsim v. Kazakhstan, Affaire CIRDI No. ARB/05/16 et Aktau Petrol Ticaret A.Ş. v. Kazakhstan, Affaire CIRDI No. ARB/15/8) et une troisième affaire en faveur d’un investisseur américain pour une expropriation politique perpétrée par le Kazakhstan (Caratube International Oil Company LLP and Mr. Devincci Salah Hourani v. Kazakhstan, Affaire CIRDI No. ARB/13/13); une sentence rendue en faveur d’un investisseur français ordonnant pour la première fois l’exécution en nature (Mr Franck Charles Arif v. Republic of Moldova, Affaire CIRDI No. ARB/11/23); une sentence rendue sur la compétence qui a retenue l’argument du Soudan et décidée pour la première fois que la nationalité étrangère de l’investisseur avait été obtenue par fraude et était donc « ineffective » (Michael Dagher v. Sudan, Affaore CIRDI No. ARB/14/2); une sentence sur la compétence en faveur de la République de Turquie rejetant, pour défaut de compétence, la demande la plus élevée jamais formulée auprès du CIRDI (19 milliards USD) à l’encontre d’un État souverain (Saba Fakes v. Republic of Turkey, Affaire CIRDI No. ARB/07/20); et trois sentences en faveur de la République d’Albanie, la première rejetant pour la première fois une affaire sur le fondement d’une clause de bifurcation contenue dans un Traité Bilatéral d’Investissement (Pantechniki S.A. Contractors & Engineers v. Republic of Albania, Affaire CIRDI No. ARB/07/21), la seconde rejetant intégralement les demandes pour défaut de compétence rationae materiae et personae et allouant l’intégralité des frais de conseil et coûts de l’arbitrage à la défenderesse (Burimi S.r.l. & Eagle Games Sh.a v. Republic of Albania, Affaire CIRDI No. ARB/11/18) et la troisième rejetant les demandes au motif que les mesures prises par l’Etat d’accueil étaient des mesures de sauvegarde légitimes et conformes au droit international, tant d’un point de vue procédural que sur le fond (Mamidoil Jetoil Greek Petroleum Products Société Anonyme S.A. v. Republic of Albania, ICSID Case No. ARB/11/24).

Conseil pour des États souverains

Conseil pour des investisseurs

Arbitrage commercial

EXPÉRIENCE EN TANT QU’ARBITRE

Arbitrage d’investissement

Arbitrage commercial
Arbitrage du sport
  • Co-arbitre dans un arbitrage administré par la Cour d’Arbitrage du Sport entre un club de football d’un pays arabe et son ancien membre du conseil d’administration relatif à la cessation de son mandat résultant de l’ingérence de ce pays arabe (CAS 2014/A/3570).
  • Co-arbitre dans un arbitrage administré par la Cour d’Arbitrage du Sport entre une fédération internationale de football et une ligue nationale de football relatif aux dates choisies pour une compétition majeure (TAS 2015/A/4021).
  • Co-arbitre dans un arbitrage administré par la Cour d’Arbitrage du Sport entre un club de football français et un organisme européen de football concernant des sanctions disciplinaires (CAS 2017/A/5299).
  • Co-arbitre dans 22 procédures d’appel administrées par la Cour d’Arbitrage du Sport entre des athlètes olympiques russe de patinage de vitesse, ski de fond et bobsleigh, et le Comité International Olympique contre la décision du Comité International Olympique d’exclure les athlète à vie sur la base des allégations de dopage de masse (CAS 2017/A/5502, CAS 2017/A/5440, CAS 2017/A/5441, CAS 2017/A/5505, CAS 2017/A/5506, CAS 2017/A/5504, CAS 2017/A/5503, CAS 2017/A/5380, CAS 2017/A/5436, CAS 2017/A/5439, CAS 2017/A/5423, CAS 2017/A/5428, CAS 2017/A/5424, CAS 2017/A/5437, CAS 2017/A/5379, CAS 2017/A/5427, CAS 2017/A/5446, CAS 2017/A/5438, CAS 2017/A/5426, CAS 2017/A/5425, CAS 2017/A/5445, CAS 2017/A/5422).
  • Co-arbitre dans 7 procédures d’appel indépendantes administrées par la Cour d’Arbitrage du Sport entre des athlètes de ski de fond russes et la Fédération Internationale de Ski contre la décision de la Fédération Internationale de Ski de suspendre temporairement les athlètes (CAS 2018/A/5526, CAS 2018/A/5527, CAS 2018/A/5528, CAS 2018/A/5529, CAS 2018/A/5530, CAS 2018/A/5531, CAS 2018/A/5532).

EXPÉRIENCE PROFESSIONNELLE

Depuis 2009 Associé fondateur, Derains & Gharavi
2000 – 2008 Associé (2005-2008), Salans – Paris
1999 Professeur invité à la Faculté de Droit de Richmond University (droit international comparé et arbitrage) – Virginie
1996 – 1998 Collaborateur, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom LLP – New York

FORMATION

2000 Doctorat (Université de Paris II)
1996 Master of Comparative Jurisprudence (New York University School of Law)
1995 D.E.A. Droit Nord Américain et Anglais des Affaires (Université de Paris I)
1994 DESS Juriste d’Affaires Internationales (Université de Paris V)
1993 Maîtrise (Université de Paris II)

ASSOCIATIONS ET COMITÉS

Publications

“Discord Over Judicial Expropriation”, ICSID Review – FILJ, Vol. 33 (2018)

“Le financement par un tiers dans l’arbitrage d’investissement”, Revue belge de l’Arbitrage, 2017/1, p. 67

"Effectiveness and the arbitrator's initiative" in "Arbitrators' initiative: when, why and how should it be used?", ASA Special Series no. 45, 2016, p.31.

“Quand la France convole avec l’Iran”, Esprit (Actualités), 22 avril 2016

“The Advantages of the ICC over ICSID in Investment Arbitrations, International Arbitration under Review”, Essays in honour of John Beechey, ICC publication No. 772 E, 2015

Voir toutes les publications

Derains & Gharavi International

Hamid Gharavi

Founding Partner

Biography

NATIONALITY: French and Iranian
LANGUAGES: French, English and Farsi
ADMISSION: Paris and New York
OFFICE: Paris

Dr. Hamid Gharavi has acted as arbitrator or counsel in over 200 ad hoc and institutional arbitrations, including commercial, construction and over 30 investment arbitrations under foreign investment laws and bilateral and multilateral treaties, in relation to a broad spectrum of issues ranging from sanctions to political takings, and industries, ranging from oil and gas, mining, M&A, military ordnance and defense, telecommunications, media, and aviation, to agency, distribution, sales, all types of design and engineering projects, poultry, duty free, hospitality, real estate, wood and derived products, pharmaceutical, and sports, including commercial, disciplinary sanctions and doping.

He has been appointed to the Panel of ICSID Arbitrators, to the Court of the Istanbul Arbitration Centre, to the Court of the LCIA (from 2008-2012), the Commission on Arbitration of the ICC as well as to other panels, including DIAC, SIAC, TRAC, and the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

Dr. Gharavi teaches investment arbitration in the Master program “Droit international économique” at the University of Paris II Panthéon-Assas. He is the author of a book entitled “The International Effectiveness of the Annulment of an Arbitral Award,” published by Kluwer Law International and publications in all the main arbitration law reviews, and a regular speaker at conferences.

Dr. Gharavi holds a PhD from the University of Paris II, and post-graduate degrees from New York University School of Law and University of Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne.

Both Chambers and Legal 500 rank him at Band 1 of arbitration counsels for France.  Chambers says that “Hamid has a larger-than-life personality and is personable and hard-working” and describes him as “extremely dynamic, fearless in hearings and able to think out of the box”. Chambers also notes that Dr. Gharavi “earns considerable praise as an active and effective arbitrator in important cases. Interviewees note his valuable input during hearings, saying: ‘He always raises good questions that are material to the outcome of the case.’” In Legal 500, he is described as “absolutely brilliant” with “a busy practice as counsel in cases but also has ‘impressive success attracting major appointments as arbitrator’”.

Before founding Derains & Gharavi, Dr. Gharavi was a partner at Salans in Paris after having started his career at Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom LLP in New York and as Visiting Professor at the University of Richmond School of  Law.

EXPERIENCE AS COUNSEL

Investment Arbitration: 

Dr. Gharavi has secured as counsel landmark victories both for investors and Sovereign States, including the first award ever of moral damages in favor of an investor under a BIT (DLP v. Yemen, ICSID Case No. ARB/05/17); an award in favour of an investor finding public tender results to be in violation of a BIT (Joseph Charles Lemire v. Ukraine, ICSID Case No. ARB/06/18); three ICSID Awards for investors against Kazakhstan including two awards in favor of Turkish entities for deprivation of their shares by the host State’s judiciary for the benefit of a third private party (Rumeli/Telsim v. Kazakhstan, ICSID Case No. ARB/05/16 and Aktau Petrol Ticaret A.Ş. v. Kazakhstan, ICSID Case No. ARB/15/8) and a third for a US investor for political taking by Kazakhstan (Caratube International Oil Company LLP and Mr. Devincci Salah Hourani v. Kazakhstan, ICSID Case No. ARB/13/13); an award in favour of a French investor ordering for the first time specific performance (Mr. Franck Charles Arif v. Republic of Moldova, ICSID Case No. ARB/11/23); a decision on jurisdiction for Sudan finding for the first time ever that a foreign nationality of the investor was secured by fraud and thus ineffective (Michael Dagher v. Sudan, ICSID Case No. ARB/14/2); an award on jurisdiction in favor of the Republic of Turkey dismissing the largest ICSID claim ever (19 billion USD) against a Sovereign State (Saba Fakes v. Republic of Turkey, ICSID Case No. ARB/07/20); and three awards for the Republic of Albania, the first dismissing for the first time ever a case based on a fork-in-the-road provision of a BIT (Pantechniki S.A. Contractors & Engineers v. Republic of Albania, ICSID Case No. ARB/07/21), the second dismissing the entire claim for lack of jurisdiction ratione materiae and personae, with full legal and arbitration costs (Burimi S.r.l. & Eagle Games Sh.a. v. Republic of Albania, ICSID Case No. ARB/11/18), and the third dismissing claims on the ground that the State measures were legitimate public measure safeguards compliant procedurally and substantively under international law (Mamidoil Jetoil Greek Petroleum Products Société Anonyme S.A. v. Republic of Albania, ICSID Case No. ARB/11/24)

Counsel for sovereign States

Counsel for investors

Commercial arbitration

EXPERIENCE AS ARBITRATOR

Investment arbitration

Commercial arbitration
Sports Arbitration
  • Co-arbitrator in an arbitration under the auspices of CAS between a football Club of an Arab State and its former board member arising out of the termination of the mandate of the former board member as a result of the interference of the Arab State (CAS 2014/A/3570).
  • Co-arbitrator in an arbitration under the auspices of CAS between the Fédération Internationale de Football Association and a national football league arising out of the selected dates of a major competition (TAS 2015/A/4021).
  • Co-arbitrator in an arbitration under the auspices of CAS between a French football club and a European football body arising out of disciplinary sanctions (CAS 2017/A/5299).
  • Co-arbitrator in 22 independent appeal proceedings under the auspices of CAS between Russian winter Olympic athletes in speed-skating, cross-country skiing  and bobsleigh and the International Olympic Committee against the International Olympic Committee’s decision for a life-ban exclusion of the athletes on the basis of a mass covert doping scheme allegations (CAS 2017/A/5502, CAS 2017/A/5440, CAS 2017/A/5441, CAS 2017/A/5505, CAS 2017/A/5506, CAS 2017/A/5504, CAS 2017/A/5503, CAS 2017/A/5380, CAS 2017/A/5436, CAS 2017/A/5439, CAS 2017/A/5423, CAS 2017/A/5428, CAS 2017/A/5424, CAS 2017/A/5437, CAS 2017/A/5379, CAS 2017/A/5427, CAS 2017/A/5446, CAS 2017/A/5438, CAS 2017/A/5426, CAS 2017/A/5425, CAS 2017/A/5445, CAS 2017/A/5422, CAS 2017/A/5436).
  • Co-arbitrator in 7 independent appeal proceedings under the auspices of CAS between Russian cross-country skiing athletes and the International Ski Federation against the International International Ski Federation’s decision on provisional suspension of the athletes (CAS 2018/A/5526, CAS 2018/A/5527, CAS 2018/A/5528, CAS 2018/A/5529, CAS 2018/A/5530, CAS 2018/A/5531, CAS 2018/A/5532).

PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE

Since 2009 Founding Partner, Derains & Gharavi
2000 – 2008 Partner (2005-2008), Salans – Paris
1999 Visiting Professor at Richmond University School of Law (international comparative law and arbitration) – Virginia
1996 – 1998 Associate, Skadden Arps Slate Meagher & Flom LLP – New York

EDUCATION

2000 Ph.D (University of Paris II)
1996 Master of Comparative Jurisprudence (New York University School of Law)
1995 D.E.A. Droit Nord Américain et Anglais des Affaires (University of Paris I)
1994 DESS Juriste d’Affaires Internationales (University of Paris V)
1993 Maîtrise (University of Paris II)

MEMBERSHIP

Publications

“Discord Over Judicial Expropriation”, ICSID Review – FILJ, Vol. 33 (2018)

“Le financement par un tiers dans l’arbitrage d’investissement”, Revue belge de l’Arbitrage, 2017/1, p. 67

"Effectiveness and the arbitrator's initiative" in "Arbitrators' initiative: when, why and how should it be used?", ASA Special Series no. 45, 2016, p.31.

“Quand la France convole avec l’Iran”, Esprit (Actualités), 22 April 2016

“The Advantages of the ICC over ICSID in Investment Arbitrations, International Arbitration under Review”, Essays in honour of John Beechey, ICC publication No. 772 E, 2015

View all publications